BORA Pure - Only the Best
Ingredients for the Kitchen

The name says it all here.
With its purist, minimalist and at the same time modern design, BORA Pure has significantly influenced the style of an entire product segment. An extractor fan, centrally integrated into the compact cooktop system utilises a round inlet nozzle on the extractor fan which draws cooking fumes downwards effectively and quietly. Operation of the unit is also reduced to its absolute essentials. With a single, centrally positioned touch slider, both cooking zones and the extractor can be simultaneously controlled.

Bora - Pure

Detailed view of the red, segmented user interface of the BORA Pure with a black inlet nozzle.
Pure Client: Bora Since: 2015 Disciplines:
UXD IFD ID ME
Gute Gestaltung Award
Good Design Award
Reddot
IF Award
German Design Award

THE TASK

How can complex operating sequences and functions be displayed in a simple and intuitive control concept? Special challenge: For the solution to be developed, we had to take into account the operating and interaction structure of the BORA Classic 2.0, which is equipped with completely different technology and hardware.

THE SOLUTION

We integrated a compact fume-extracting cupboard system into the cooktop in a space-saving and seamless manner.
With its understated design and reduction to a central control element, the BORA Pure is not just particularly user-friendly, but also extremely easy to clean; a factor which, if you ask any chef, is not to be underestimated. The "sControl" control system is positioned vertically on the cooktop. Its user interface is based on the functional principles of Classic 2.0 and thus meets preexisting corporate standards. Intuitive back and forth movement of the touch slider with the finger or direct tapping makes its operation an absolute pleasure.

In our internal usability lab, a test person is testing the BORA Pure user interface on a tablet. The test persons wears eye-tracking glasses.
In our internal usability lab, a test person, led by our colleague Veronika, tests the BORA Pure user interface on a tablet. The participant wears eye-tracking glasses.

All prototypes were intensively tested until they were ready for series production

Our colleague Tom tests the removability of the inlet nozzle of the BORA Pure using a prototype.
Our colleague Tom tests the insertion of the BORA Pure inlet nozzle using a prototype.

Individual colour accents
in the kitchen

With its clear lines, the system is a design highlight that fits elegantly into any modern kitchen architecture. BORA Pure also offers room for individual colour accents. The inlet nozzle of the cooktop extractor fan is, for example, not only available in black, but also in five other chic colours.

A BORA Pure with a black inlet nozzzle, which absorbs the steam from a boiling pan.
The BORA Pure hotplate with various pots, photographed from above.

The cooking zones and extractor fan are positioned so intelligently that cooking can be done simultaneously with four pots of up to 24 cm in size.

IMAGO DESIGN

BORA Pure – nur beste Zutaten für die Küche

Der Name ist hier Programm. Durch sein puristisches, minimalistisches und zugleich modernes Design hat BORA Pure den Stil eines ganzen Produktsegments maßgeblich geprägt. In das kompakte Kochfeldsystem ist ein Dunstabzug zentral integriert, durch dessen runde Einströmdüse die Kochdünste effektiv und leise nach unten abgesaugt werden. Auch die Bedienung ist hier auf das Wesentliche reduziert. Mit einen einzigen, zentral platzierten Touch-Slider kann man sowohl Kochzonen wie Abzug gleichzeitig steuern.

Bora - Pure

Detailansicht der roten, segmentierten Benutzerschnittstelle der BORA Pure mit einem schwarzen Einströmgitter.
Pure Kunde: Bora Seit: 2015 Leistungen:
UXD IFD ID ME
Gute Gestaltung Award
Good Design Award
Reddot
IF Award
German Design Award

Die Aufgabe

Wie lassen sich komplexe Bedienabläufe und Funktionen in einem einfachen und intuitiv zu händelnden Steuerungskonzept darstellen? Besondere Herausforderung: Für die zu entwickelnde Lösung sollten wir die Bedien- und Interaktionsphilosophie des BORA Classic 2.0 berücksichtigen, das mit gänzlich anderer Technologie und Hardware ausgerüstet ist.

Die Lösung

Wir haben ein kompaktes Abzugssystem platzsparend und flächenbündig in das Kochfeld integriert. Durch sein zurückgenommenes Design und die Reduzierung auf ein zentrales Bedienelement ist das BORA Pure nicht nur besonders benutzerfreundlich, es lässt sich auch ausgesprochen einfach reinigen. Ein nicht zu unterschätzender Pluspunkt. Das Steuerungssystem sControl ist vertikal auf dem Kochfeld platziert. Seine Bedienoberfläche basiert auf den Funktionsprinzipien des Classic 2.0 und erfüllt damit die Corporate Standards. Durch intuitives Vor- und Zurückbewegen des Touch-Sliders mit dem Finger oder direktes Antippen wird die Bedienung zum reinen Vergnügen.

In unserem internen Usability Lab testet ein Proband die Benutzerschnittstelle der BORA Pure auf einem Tablet. Der Proband trägt eine Eyetrackingbrille.
In unserem internen Usability Lab testet ein Proband, angeleitet von unserer Kollegin Veronika, die Benutzerschnittstelle der BORA Pure auf einem Tablet. Der Proband trägt eine Eyetrackingbrille.

Unsere Prototypen wurden bis zur Serienreife intensiv getestet

Unser Kollege Tom testet die Herausnehmbarkeit des Einströmgitters der BORA Pure anhand eines Prototypen.
Unser Kollege Tom testet das Einlegen des Einströmgitters der BORA Pure anhand eines Prototypen.

Individuelle Farbakzente
in der Küche

Mit seiner klaren Linienführung ist das System ein Design-Highlight, das sich elegant in jede moderne Küchenarchitektur einfügt. Dabei bietet BORA Pure auch Raum für individuelle Farbakzente. Denn die Einströmdüse des Kochfeldabzugs gibt es nicht nur in Schwarz, sondern auch in fünf chicen Farben.

Eine BORA Pure mit schwarzem Einströmgitter, welches Dampf von einem kochenden Kochtopf einsaugt.
Die BORA Pure Kochplatte mit diversen Töpfen, von oben fotografiert.

Kochzonen und Abzug sind so intelligent platziert, dass gleichzeitig mit 4 bis zu 24 cm großen Töpfen gekocht werden kann.

IMAGO DESIGN